RSS

Landed the internship…

15 May

Well, I did it. I landed the PR internship I was hoping for this summer. My parents are thrilled, my little sister is indifferent, and my grandma can’t stop telling everyone that I’m the next Katie Couric (Slow down there Grandma, I’m only an intern and you got the wrong field).

I’m working at a public relations agency in downtown Nashville. I just finished my junior year at University of Alabama, and I decided to head home for the summer to gain some valuable professional experience. I’m majoring in journalism and PR, minoring in marketing; and as far as my academic advisor is concerned, I’m right on track for graduation. (Once again, parents are thrilled.)

I, however, am even more excited than they are about my upcoming summer experience. Why did I want this internship so badly?

I’m at that point in my studies where all the stress/confusion/chaos of college has plateaued into a glorious revelation. I’m confident and relieved that I’ve found a field of study that combines everything I’ve always enjoyed with everything I’ve always been good at. With my internship this summer, I’m seeking that absolute confirmation that PR is indeed my future.

So why am I writing a blog?
Do I have wisdom? Not yet.
Do I have wit? I’d like to think a little.

Therefore, all I can hope to do with this blog is relay the lessons I learn this summer in a somewhat amusing way. Perhaps at the end of the summer I’ll be both witty and wise in the ways of PR. Follow me on Twitter @theWITTYintern

Best Regards,
Intern

**The views expressed on this blog are mine alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
